Tuesday, August 16, 2011

YRC Worldwide Professional Drivers Capture Top Awards at the 2011 National Truck Driving Championships

YRC Worldwide Inc. is proud to announce that four of its professional drivers captured top awards at this year's National Truck Driving Championships, held Aug. 9-13 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla. YRC Worldwide sent a team of 42 outstanding professional drivers from its Holland, Reddaway and YRC subsidiaries to the annual competition.

Jeff Payne, a Reddaway driver from Utah, placed first in the Twins Class competition. Payne has been in the transportation industry for 25 years and with Reddaway for the past 18 years. Payne was named the Utah State Grand Champion for 2003 and 2011.

Herschel Evans, a Holland driver from Georgia, placed first in the 5-Axle Class competition. Evans has been in the transportation industry for 23 years and with Holland for the past 17 years. Evans was named the 2006 Georgia State 5-Axle Champion and the 2008 State 5-Axle Champion and National Champion.

John Lopez, a Reddaway driver from Colorado, placed third in the Straight Truck competition. Lopez has been in the transportation industry for 17 years and with Reddaway for the past 17 years. Lopez was named the Colorado State Straight Truck Champion in 2010 and 2011.

Additionally, Larry Dumont, a YRC driver from New Hampshire, received the Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award. Dumont was named the 2011 New Hampshire State 5-Axle Champion and 1994 New Hampshire State Grand Champion.

"We would like to congratulate all of our drivers who competed at the National Truck Driving Championships," said James Welch, CEO of YRC Worldwide. "Our professional drivers demonstrate remarkable skill and commitment to safety, which are essential to keeping our highways safe."

To compete at the national competition, drivers must be accident free for the 12 months leading up to the event and place first in their state-level driving championship.

No comments: