Friday, May 27, 2016

ABF Freight Road Driver Loren Hatfield Named 2015 Arkansas Driver of the Year

ABF Freight is proud to recognize Loren Hatfield, a road driver based in Little Rock, Arkansas, for being chosen 2015 Driver of the Year by the Arkansas Trucking Association.

“We’ve grown accustomed to hearing Loren’s name mentioned as being among the top professional truck drivers in the industry,” said ABF Freight President Tim Thorne. “He is a consummate professional, and we are extremely pleased to have him driving for ABF Freight.”

Hatfield has been a professional driver for 25 years, the last 17 with ABF Freight. A six-time competitor in the National Truck Driving Championships, he earned second place in the straight truck class in 2015. He has earned recognition as an America’s Road Team Captain, Arkansas Road Team Captain and member of the ABF Freight Road Team. He has been an Arkansas Truck Driving Grand Champion. At the Arkansas competitions, he has also earned highest written score, best pre-trip and the sportsmanship award. He’s earned these and other honors while driving over 2 million accident-free miles.

“Loren’s leadership and contribution to the industry set a high bar and have earned him this recognition. He represents the best trucking has to offer, and his commitment to safety is personal and evident in his excellent driving record and extraordinary volunteer efforts,” noted Shannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association.

Loren speaks to elementary and high schools promoting safety around big trucks. He helps the Arkansas Highway Police by driving in their “World’s Largest Convoy,” a fundraiser for Special Olympics. Loren also works with the Arkansas Children’s Hospital at its “Teen Driving Roadeo,” educating teen drivers about safety around trucks and volunteers at other events across the state.

“Loren is more than a safe and professional driver; he looks for opportunities to give back – to help others and make our industry better,” said David O’Neal, ATA’s director of safety services.

Hatfield was named the Arkansas Driver of the Year during the ATA’s 2016 Annual Business Conference in Little Rock. According to the ATA, more than 80,000 Arkansans are employed in the trucking industry, of which 38,000 are drivers.

“I am very proud to be part of an industry that is so vital to the success of our nation,” Hatfield said. “Being chosen Arkansas Driver of the Year is a great honor.”

No comments: