Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Eight Arizona Professional Drivers Head to National Truck Driving Championships

Eight Arizona professional truck drivers will arrive in Salt Lake City today to compete in the National Truck Driving Championships at the Salt Palace Convention Center.  These elite drivers earned their way to compete in the "Superbowl of Safety" after winning their title earlier this summer at the state level.

Over 420 drivers from all 50 states will compete in Salt Lake City for four days, challenging their driving skills, and knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. From 18-wheeler five axle sleepers to tank trucks to twin trailers—they will drive a course that recreates situations truck drivers face daily. These maneuvers may include: an alley dock, a rear line stop, a side park, a scale stop, a right turn, a front line stop, and straight line driving through a diminishing clearance.

On August 24, one contestant will drive away as the Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion.

"The Truck Driving Championships represent the culmination of the industry's dedication to safety," said Arizona Trucking Association President and CEO Tony Bradley.  "I congratulate all the contestants and I hope Arizona cheers for our drivers this week."

Arizona participants at National Truck Driving Championships for each category include:

Robert W. Boykin, Walmart Transportation, LLC - Sleeper Berth Ina L. Daly, Con-way Freight  - Tank Truck David R. Messmer, YRC Freight - Four-Axle Russell A. Norman, FedEx Ground - Step Van Jose A. Orozco, Con-way Freight - Five-Axle Steven D. Smalley, ABF Freight System, Inc. - Three-Axle Galen R. Spangler, Shamrock Foods Company - Straight Truck Phillip J. Wells, Swift Transportation - Flatbed

No comments: