Sunday, August 23, 2009

2009 National Truck Driving Champions Announced

Dale L. Duncan, a Con-way Freight professional truck driver based in San Diego, Calif. was named the 2009 National Truck Driving Grand Champion.

Dale's driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety information topped those of 415 other professional drivers from all across the United States in the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Pittsburgh, Pa. The 72nd annual "Super Bowl of Safety" is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

National Champions:

Straight Truck Class

1st Place: Robert (Bob) J. Dolan - Con-way Freight (Catasauqua, Pa.)

2nd Place: Leroy Williams, Sr. - Con-way Freight (Zachary, La.)

3rd: Place: Brent A. Glasenapp - FedEx Express (Franklin, Wis.)

Three-Axle Class

1st Place: Don Logan - FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.)

2nd Place: Brian Clark - FedEx Express (Pittsboro, Ind.)

3rd Place: Joe Mangiaracino - FedEx Freight (Sullivan, Mo.)

Four-Axle Class

1st Place: Mike Stickley - Con-way Freight (Winchester, Va.)

2nd Place: Tim Dean - Werner Enterprises, Inc. (Omaha, Neb.)

3rd Place: Darryl Dodd - Wal-Mart Transportation, LLC (Phil Campbell, Ala.)

Five-Axle Class

1st Place: Dale Duncan - Con-way Freight (San Diego, Calif.)

2nd Place: Ray Jackson - H-E-B Grocery Co. (San Antonio, Texas)

3rd Place: J.W. (Jesse) Ballard - YRC (Portland, Ore.)

Sleeper Berth Class

1st Place: Troy Swenson - FedEx Freight (Watertown, S.D.)

2nd Place: Ralph Garcia - ABF Freight System, Inc. (Rio Rancho, N.M.)

3rd Place: John Hummel - UPS Freight (Gaffney, S.C.)

Twins Class

1st Place: Mark McLean - FedEx Freight (Gardiner, N.Y.)

2nd Place: Chris Poynor - Con-way Freight (Pasco, Wash.)

3rd Place: Stacy Sansom - YRC (Shreveport, La.)

Flatbed Class

1st Place: Mick Simpson - Family Dollar Trucking, Inc. (Rose Hill, N.C.)

2nd Place: Rich Sweeney - Con-way Freight (Springfield, Mass.)

3rd Place: Rick Kinsey - Con-way Freight (Winchester, Va.)

Tank Truck Class

1st Place: Tony Spero - ABF Freight (Stratford, Conn.)

2nd Place: Jon Hume - FedEx Freight (Hillsboro, Mo.)

3rd Place: Dennis Chambers - Crete Carrier Corporation (Spartanburg, Neb.)

Step Van Class

1st Place: David Thompson - FedEx Ground (Alexander, Ark.)

2nd Place: Skippy LeBlanc - FedEx Ground (Seaford, Del.)

3rd Place: Nick Paradiso - FedEx Ground (Portland, Ore.)

No comments: