Saturday, October 20, 2012

Teamsters Applaud Signing Of Military Commercial Drivers' License Act

Teamsters across the country are applauding President Barack Obama's signing into law today of the Military Commercial Drivers' License Act of 2012. The demand for qualified, safe truck drivers has risen over the past few years and the new law will make it easier for veterans and service men and women to obtain Commercial Drivers' Licenses, making them more employable once they leave active-duty.

"With construction projects ramping up there is an increased need for safe, dependable truck drivers with CDLs," said Jim Hoffa, Teamsters General President. "Through our work with the Teamsters Military Assistance Program and Helmets to Hardhats, we know that our active duty military and veterans are valued for their military training, making them sought-after candidates for freight and construction work."

The law will enable an active duty service man or woman to go through the training and skill acquisition necessary to obtain a CDL while they are performing their duties in service to the United States. The fact that they may be serving in a state other than their home state will no longer be an obstacle.

"We support this legislation," said Marion Davis, Director of the Teamsters Building Materials and Constructions Trades division. "Our goal is to support the transition of military personnel to civilian life. We will continue the necessary training to assist veterans and active duty military personnel in becoming safe and confident drivers."

ABF Freight System, International Brotherhood of Teamsters to Begin Negotiations for Next Collective Bargaining Agreement

ABF Freight System, Inc., one of the nation’s largest less-than-truckload freight carriers, and the Teamsters National Freight Industry Negotiating Committee (TNFINC) announced on Wednesday that they expect to begin negotiations on a new collective bargaining agreement on December 18, 2012.

TNFINC is the negotiating arm of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. ABF is the largest subsidiary of Arkansas Best Corporation and was founded in 1923. The current collective bargaining agreement, known as the National Master Freight Agreement, expires at midnight on March 31, 2013. It covers approximately 7,800 ABF Teamster employees in various locations across the United States, including road drivers, city drivers, dockworkers, mechanics and clerical personnel.

“We look forward to working together with TNFINC to create an agreement for our future that allows ABF to be more competitive,” said Roy Slagle, ABF president and chief executive officer. “Our goal is to reach an agreement that enables us to better compete in a rapidly changing freight transportation market on behalf of our customers, our employees and our shareholders.”

Herschel Evans Receives 2012 Destination Green Environmental Excellence Award

Holland professional driver Herschel Evans was recently honored with a 2012 Destination Green Environmental Excellence Award for his efforts towards environmental sustainability. The award recognizes employees of YRC Worldwide companies who exhibit environmental leadership in a variety of areas, including efficient use of energy, emissions reductions, customer and vendor environmental partnerships and community outreach on promoting sustainable practices.

Evans was selected for his safe and efficient driving practices, which have resulted in a high miles-per-gallon ratio for his Holland truck and have allowed him to share and promote best practices with fellow truck drivers and motorists. These practices include route planning and smooth starts and stops to optimize fuel usage.

"We would like to thank Herschel Evans for his dedication to the invaluable cause of environmental sustainability," said Scott Ware, Holland president. "Together with leaders like Herschel, we at Holland hope to build a better future for generations to come, while continuing to provide the best services for our customers."

This second annual award program is part of the larger Destination Green initiative--a YRC Worldwide corporate plan that employs numerous processes with the goals of reducing the company's carbon footprint while optimizing corporate resources. Award recipients are nominated by their fellow employees.

Herschel Evans is a city driver operating out of the Atlanta, Ga. service center. In addition to receiving this environmental award, Herschel was recently named 2012 Georgia Driver of the Year and placed first in the 5-axle category in the 2012 Georgia Truck Driving Championships. Evans also won the state 5-axle competition in 2011, 2008 and 2006. He went on to earn two national titles with first-place finishes in the 5-axle class at the National Truck Driving Championships in 2011 and 2008.

YRC Freight Announces 2012 Driver Hall of Fame Winners

YRC Freight, a subsidiary of YRC Worldwide Inc., announced nine inductees into the 2012 Driver Hall of Fame as part of National Truck Driver Appreciation Week.

YRC Freight honors the following professional drivers who have collectively driven over 25 million accident-free miles:

Donald Cook — Linehaul Driver, Allentown, PA
Jerry Cudmore — Retired City Driver, Sioux Falls, SD
David McDonald — Retired Road Driver, Kansas City, KS
Thomas Nestler — Driver, Montgomery, IL
Donald Robinson — Road Driver, Akron, OH
Bob Seeman — Road Driver, Valdosta, GA
Richard Shreiner — Road Driver, Harrisburg, PA
Ray Simon — Retired City Driver, St. Cloud, MN
Alfred Weddle — Road Driver, Albuquerque, NM

"We salute these outstanding YRC Freight drivers for the tremendous feat they have accomplished and thank them for their continued commitment to providing unparalleled service to our customers," said Jeff Rogers, president of YRC Freight. "These exceptional individuals help YRC Freight to remain one of the safest transportation providers in the industry."

National Truck Driver Appreciation Week honors the 3.1 million professional truck drivers nationwide who log close to 398 billion miles each year and in 2011 delivered 67 percent of the U.S. freight tonnage--or over 9.2 billion tons of freight.

YRC Worldwide Companies Honored with the ATA Mike Russell 'Good Stuff' Trucking Image Award

The American Trucking Associations has awarded YRC Worldwide Inc., YRC Freight, Holland, Reddaway and New Penn with the sixth annual Mike Russell "Good Stuff" Trucking Image Award.  The Award honors companies that creatively generate positive awareness of the trucking industry.  The YRC Worldwide companies were recognized for their driver recognition initiatives, sustainability programs and assistance they have provided to communities including those with military families.

"This recognition highlights our employees' commitment to promote the very best of this industry in safety, sustainability and service," said James Welch, CEO of YRC Worldwide.  "I am proud of the commitment our team makes each and every day to be champions of safety, practice sustainability in their jobs and serve the communities in which we do business."

The "Good Stuff" Trucking Image Awards are named in honor of the late Mike Russell, a trucking industry supporter and former ATA vice president of public affairs. TMW Systems sponsored the Awards at the American Trucking Associations' Annual Management Conference and Exhibition in Las Vegas.